Why I Started This Blog

This is my (second) first blog post, anywhere, officially.  I am trying a couple of different venues.  I was inspired by an organization called Live Your Legend (LYL) to start a blog, but decided my budget called for a free blog site rather than what was recommended.  If you knew my past 3 years, you’d understand my hesitancy to part with aliquots of my income that need to go towards moving expenses.

So, I wanted something with a “defiant” theme because I consider myself to have defied many odds.  I grew up in a single-parent home, where I moved frequently, and I lived in a small city where local politics and the business of others spread rapidly.  I wanted out, so I went to Chicago for college, after graduating at the top of my high school class.  Perhaps Chicago was a bit far for a start, so I ended up returning home (anti-climactic) after graduating with my B.A. in 3 years.  Two years later I simply couldn’t stick around and was, if anything, losing momentum, so I joined the military.  Within six months of training, I decided that I would pursue med school as soon as I got out – which was a long time.  But after one long deployment and a reprogramming of my brain for Mandarin Chinese, I did what I had determined to do.

I am currently preparing for a move to Florida (yay! Sunshine State!) to begin a MD/PhD program and I’m super excited!  And also a bit stressed!  This time of transition has prompted much introspection (as if I don’t already do too much of that), and as a result, this desire to try out a blog as an outlet to continue this journey of self-discovery nagged me to this point.  So, I’m no longer a virgin to the blog world!  And I hope to encourage others along a path of…defiance.  Defiance against the crap that life throws at you, not just to survive, but to thrive.  To live a meaningful life of following your passion, whatever that may resemble.  This is just one of many previous steps in finding that out for myself!  Bon voyage!  Buen viaje!

One thought on “Why I Started This Blog

Leave a Reply

